Perfect M&M’s Cookies

So far I’ve shared all gluten-free recipes, however, this post is dedicated to my gluten-loving friends out there who are looking for the most perfect M&M’s cookie recipe. I do have plans to try and replicate this cookie as gluten-free, but for now I will share the recipe as is.

image63

You really can’t go wrong with an M&M’s cookie for a get-together since it is a definite crowd pleaser. I was having friends over for a football game last weekend and knew these would be an easy hit to set out with the spread. I add chocolate chips to mine – because chocolate is important.

image64 The key with these cookies is to take them out of the oven while they still look pale and appear not to be done all the way. The cookies will set once they cool off and be perfect little morsels of candy and chocolate goodness. The reviews from my friends included “I can’t stop eating these cookies,” and “I’m about to go eat cookie number six…” So thumbs up all around.

I even got my youngest brother, Dave, to help out on this one. He’s a fellow cookie-lover, but his baking portfolio mostly consists of pre-made Pillsbury Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, so I enlisted him as my help on this one.

image60

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups + 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 ½ sticks of salted butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup M&M’s
  • ½-1 cup chocolate chips

image

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. In your stand mixer, blend the butter and sugar until combined. I soften my butter a little bit, but don’t generally melt it. You may get a flatter cookie.
  3. Add in the egg and egg yolk along with the vanilla and continue to blend.
  4. Gradually add the flour and baking soda.
  5. By hand, fold in the M&M’s and chocolate chips. I eyeballed my portions until I had an amount I was happy with, but these are approximations on the amount I used. Adjust to whatever proportion works for you. To me, more chocolate is ALWAYS better and I wish I’d had more M&M’s on hand.
  6. Use your cookie scooper to form perfect little cookie balls. For best results, use a silicone baking mat on your cookie sheet, and spray a light dusting of non-stick spray on top.
  7. Bake for about ten minutes or until they look nice and spread out, cooked most of the way, but are NOT browned on the edges yet. They will still look a little pale and may appear under-cooked, but if you take them out at the right time they will toughen up and be perfectly soft.
  8. Serve and watch them fly away!

image61   image65

Recipe adapted from FunAwesome.

Leave a Reply

