Pumpkin Chai Latte Cookies

It is officially fall! And we know this, not because it’s getting colder outside, but because EVERYTHING is pumpkin-flavored. Don’t expect anything different out of me…because I’m female and it’s only natural that I crave pumpkin this time of year.

IMG_1392  IMG_1412

I apologize for posting three cookies in a row, but they are my specialty and I needed a quick dessert for our dinner plans tonight. I promise I have a few other pumpkin treats soon to come… No fear, I bought the giant container of pumpkin puree from the store because I intend to make many pumpkin recipes in the next month.

IMG_1414

Pumpkin….pumpkin cookie….pumpkin spice cookie…heck, how do I make it taste like a Pumpkin Spice Latte? I actually ended up creating a Pumpkin CHAI Latte…cookie. The combination of pumpkin, cinnamon sugar and white chocolate chips did the job. I did somewhat of a rework of my last recipe since they turned out well. I lessened the butter and added pumpkin puree, and then rolled the dough in cinnamon sugar to give it a sweet outer coat before baking.

IMG_1393

The result was delicious. I’m not sure how, but the white chocolate chips stayed soft and gooey hours after I baked these and let them sit out. It greatly puzzled our dinner host, because she couldn’t figure out how I did it (I lied and said my answer was that I’m simply a great baker).

IMG_1387

Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups gluten-free flour mix (or regular flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp pumpkin spice
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 6 tbsp of softened butter or spread
  • 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • cinnamon sugar (to roll dough in)

IMG_1388 IMG_1390

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Put your silicone baking mat or parchment paper on the cookie sheet and spray a light dusting of non-stick spray.
  2. Mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, pumpkin spice and salt in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. In your stand mixer, blend the softened butter, pumpkin puree and both sugars.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla extract and mix until blended together.
  5. Slowly add the flour mixture a little at a time.
  6. Take your bowl off the mixing stand and fold in the white chocolate chips by hand.
  7. Put your dough in the freezer for 15 minutes, or refrigerator for 20-30.
  8. Use your spring-release cookie-scooper to scoop the dough into little circular spheres. Drop the cookie dough in the cinnamon sugar mix and coat it all the way around.
  9. Place the cookies on the cookie sheet and press them down a little bit. Put a few extra white chocolate chips on top if you’d like (I encourage this).
  10. Bake for around 8 minutes.
  11. When you can see the very ends start to get a little golden or crisp, it’s time to take them out.
  12. Enjoy with friends (or don’t and eat the whole batch yourself).

**Baker’s note** do not store these in a closed container after baking. They will become gooey and soft (not in a good way). I usually leave them out for a few days and then store them.

IMG_1431

IMG_1428

IMG_1432

One thought on “Pumpkin Chai Latte Cookies

Leave a Reply

