Rich, Fudgy, Chocolate Chip Brownies with Bourbon-soaked Pecans

Does the title of this post make you want a brownie already? Good…because these are truly that delicious and deserve more than just one adjective.

This post was supposed to be about pumpkin pie fudge, which I attempted to make for a tailgate this week. However, like many first-time experiments, it was a big flop. I promise to try again soon (and succeed next time).

I have been making these brownies since I first found the recipe many, many years ago. I’ve had my fair share of brownies over the course of my lifetime and this particular recipe is the one that I continually go back to over and over again.

image image2

I believe in adding chocolate chips to everything, but in this case it is up to your personal preference. I added those as well as some bourbon-soaked pecans and the result was fantastic. I have always traditionally made these with regular flour, but I was delighted to find that they turned out just as good with gluten-free flour. So I can tell you first-hand that I’ve tried both and you can make them whichever way works for you.

image5

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour or GF flour blend
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2-1 cup chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/2 cup bourbon-soaked pecans or walnuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9×9 inch baking pan with non-stick spray.
  2. Mix together the oil, sugar, and vanilla. Beat in eggs.
  3. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl; gradually stir into the egg mixture until well-blended.
  4. Stir in chocolate chips by hand, as well as the bourbon-soaked pecans or walnuts, if desired. I soaked my pecans overnight by spreading them out in a small, plastic, food container and pouring a thin layer of bourbon in the bottom.
  5. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.
  6. Bake for 18-22 minutes until the edges look cooked and start to pull away from the pan.
  7. Let cool and then cut into squares (or if you’re impatient like me, go ahead and scoop some out into a bowl, smother with chocolate syrup and ice cream, and dig in while it’s warm).

image1

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.

One thought on “Rich, Fudgy, Chocolate Chip Brownies with Bourbon-soaked Pecans

Leave a Reply

