Gooey, Fudgey Chocolate Brownies with Peanut Butter Chips

The thing I like most about baking is that recipes are not set and permanent. You can always play around with different variations to see what works best, and different ingredients and formulas yield different (and tasty) results.

Last night I decided to play with my brownie recipe and the result was DELICIOUS. First, I would like to thank my Aunt Deb for her continued support of my brownie addiction over the years. Even to this day, any time I come to her house, she always has brownies in the oven waiting for me. Last time she even bought the gluten-free mix. She also added something new that’s become a must-have in my brownies: peanut butter chips. If you have not tried them in brownies before…oh my goodness…it’s life changing. Another thing she did was use butter instead of oil and I remember how thick and fudgey they were.

image

For this recipe I took my old brownie recipe, Rich, Fudgey, Chocolate Chip Brownies with Bourbon-soaked Pecans, and decided to swap out the oil for butter and add the peanut butter chips. I’ve always made these brownies with oil, but I wanted a gooey-er (is that a word?), fudgier brownie. For me, the difference between these two versions is this: in the oil recipe I can really taste the sugar, and the butter version is much thicker and the chocolate flavor is stronger.

image

As I’ve told you before, I’m a chocolate-fiend and brownies are the ultimate dessert for me. If I had to choose one last meal on Earth, it would be a brownie sundae…no doubt. I made these brownies gluten-free with substitute flour, but you can use regular flour as well and they will turn out just as good.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick melted, unsalted butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour or GF flour blend
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9×9 baking pan with non-stick spray.
  2. Mix together the melted butter, sugar and vanilla. Beat in eggs.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the cocoa, flour, baking powder and salt. Gradually stir this into the egg mixture until well-blended.
  4. Stir in chocolate chips by hand, as well as the peanut butter chips, if desired.
  5. If you like your brownies gooey and slightly under-done (a.k.a. the best kind of brownies), bake for about 20 minutes until the edges look cooked and start to pull away from the pan. A toothpick inserted in the middle will still come out a little gooey and that is ok. if you like them a little more well-done, bake for an additional 5-8 minutes.
  6. Let cool for about an hour and then cut into squares.
IMG_0024IMG_0020
image44
3 thoughts on “Gooey, Fudgey Chocolate Brownies with Peanut Butter Chips

Leave a Reply

