Soft, Dark Chocolate Espresso Crunch Cookies

Sometimes I’m inspired to create something new just because I have a surplus of some random ingredient in my kitchen that I want to use up. I was cleaning out my candy drawer the other day (yes I have a candy drawer…ok I have two candy drawers) and I found a bag of dark chocolate espresso beans. To be honest, I’m not quite sure why I bought these in the first place as I’m not particularly inclined to eat espresso beans by themselves. Although there are quite a lot of things I’ll eat covered in chocolate so…that’s most likely the culprit.

 

It was my good friend Tony’s birthday and I was contemplating what type of treat he might enjoy. Tony loves coffee/might be addicted to coffee…thus, I decided to create the dark chocolate espresso crunch cookie and kill two birds with one stone. I highly recommend grinding fresh dark chocolate-covered espresso beans with a food processor, but if you don’t have one, you could possibly use a high-quality blender as well.

I wanted these cookies to be soft and more cake-like than normal cookies, so I replaced one of the eggs I planned to use with just an egg white, which helped. I also used part granulated sugar and part powdered sugar for this combination. These cookies are very soft and almost taste like a chocolate pudding, and the “crunch” is a little understated. How fine you grind the beans will determine the amount of crunch in your cookie.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter (softened)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup flour (I use the GF flour blend)
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup ground, dark chocolate-covered espresso beans
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Make sure your butter is softened, and stick it in a bowl in the microwave for about 10 seconds so that it starts to melt a little (but is NOT melted).
  2. Put the butter in your mixing bowl and blend it with both sugars.
  3. Add your egg + egg white and vanilla extract.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, ground dark chocolate espresso beans, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  5. Slowly add the dry mixture to the mixing bowl a little at a time and blend.
  6. Add in the dark chocolate chips.
  7. Refrigerate the dough if you have time and/or want the cookies to be a little more sturdy/puffier. Otherwise they may flatten out a little bit in the oven (up to your preference).
  8. Scoop the dough into balls and place them on the cookie sheet. Bake for about 7-8 minutes.
  9. Take them out of the oven and let them sit for about 15-20 minutes before removing. Trust me, you will need to let these set or else the cookies will squish when you try to remove them from the pan. They’re very soft and sensitive before they set. I recommend putting them on a cooling rack to completely cool for about an hour.

image67

image66

image70

image77

3 thoughts on “Soft, Dark Chocolate Espresso Crunch Cookies

  1. Together with everything which appears to be building inside this specific area, many of your peeiceptsvrs are actually fairly radical. Even so, I am sorry, but I can not give credence to your whole theory, all be it exhilarating none the less. It looks to us that your opinions are not completely justified and in simple fact you are generally yourself not really thoroughly confident of the assertion. In any case I did enjoy looking at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

