Pumpkin Crumble Coffee Cake

Pumpkin lovers rejoice! It is the season for pumpkin everything and although I try to resist the urge at times, I ultimately end up giving in to the craze each year. This year I discovered Trader Joe’s pumpkin pecan oatmeal (amazing), pumpkin spice cheerios and Private Selection New York Cheesecake Pumpkin ice cream.

I broke my foot a few weeks ago and am still recovering post-surgery so it’s been a little difficult to get around and I’ve had a lot of time at home. Although my mobility is limited, my desire to bake has not diminished and it gives me something to look forward to since I’m trapped at home unable to drive for a while. I have this awesome knee scooter that allows me to get around the kitchen fairly easily and it even has a basket on the front so I can transport my materials. I knew I had to bake something pumpkin-related before the month was over and the cravings diminished. Thus, I decided on a pumpkin crumble coffee cake.

20161016_180646

My husband is currently in grad school and this coffee cake was his on-the-go breakfast for a solid week and a half until it was gone. The treat is highly addictive and a delicious decadent indulgence. It’s perfect for a crisp fall morning alongside a nice cup of coffee.

Coffee Cake Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/3 cup milk (I use almond)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla

img_4945

Crumble Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1  cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch nutmeg

img_4947

Glaze Ingredients:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • Pumpkin pie spice
  • Milk (I used almond)

20161016_180354

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 8×8 pan with non-stick spray. If you have parchment paper, it may be easier to line the pan with it and make it long enough so the edges stick up and you can pull the cake out of the pan.
  2. In a bowl, blend flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk vegetable oil, pumpkin puree, milk, eggs and vanilla until combined.
  4. Make a hole in the center of the dry ingredients, and pour in the wet ingredients. Mix only until it is evenly combined but no more.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pan and set aside.
  6. For the crumble, toss sugar, flour, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg together in a large bowl. Stir in melted butter until crumbly. It will still be wet but you will be able to break it up into smaller pieces. Make sure the mixture is crumbly and, if it’s not, continue to add flour a little at a time.
  7. Crumble the topping over the batter in the pan into an even layer. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  8. When the cake has cooled and after you can cut it into pieces, prepare the glaze. In a small bowl, combine powdered sugar, maple syrup and add a little milk at a time. Add in spices as desired. Keep it on the thicker side so that it’s not too watery and soaks your cake. Drizzle it over the cake.
  9. Enjoy!

20161016_18091520161016_180340img_4951img_495520161016_180603

Recipe adjusted from Sprinkle Some Sugar.

Leave a Reply

